The Dernogalizer

August 29, 2008

Sarah Palin

Filed under: Energy/Climate,National Politics — Matt Dernoga @ 4:46 pm
Tags: , ,
God No!

God No!

Obviously my guess at Tim Pawlenty as the VP was wrong, as John McCain has chosen Sarah Palin, the two year governor of Alaska. From a perspective of how this affects the race, I really don’t know. Obama has held a slight lead in Alaska, and that state may now go to McCain, however it’s only three electoral votes, and there were other toss-up states such as Michigan where other VP selections would of had more of an effect on the electorate. How this affects the women’s vote? The funny thing is I don’t think Sarah Palin will represent any of the interests of women, but McCain having her on the ticket will get some of that vote. How much of that she yields will determine how much of a difference she makes in the electoral vote. At this point, I think that’s a toss-up, but no doubt some of the Hillary supporters who were upset Obama didn’t pick her may vote McCain/Palin.

From a political perspective, Sarah Palin hasn’t been in the game long. She was a mayor of a small town, and shes been Governor of Alaska for a couple of years. Take it how you will, it’s kind of ironic for the McCain campaign to attack Obama over and over again for not having enough experience and then pick Sarah. I really think that McCain is only picking Palin to try and get the women’s vote, I really think they had plenty of VP’s they would have picked over her, but saw this choice as making the most political headway. If they were going to pick a woman, I would’ve thought it would be Kay Baley Hutchinson, who has a lot more experience. The debate between Palin and Biden will be interesting, I quite frankly think Biden will clean house, but he has to do it in a non-jackass way to not alienate people watching who think hes talking down to her.

From a political perspective, I’m unsure how this will play out. However, from an environmental and energy perspective, this is extremely disturbing. Sarah Palin and Alaska are one of the MOST backwards states when it comes to energy, fighting climate change, and protecting the environment. In fact it’s so bad this pick has almost made me throw up. I truly hope that McCain wouldn’t listen to her on these issues if he were elected. For a state that may be the most affected by climate change in our country, Alaska’s policies have been mind boggling. They’ve spent hundreds of thousands, if not millions of dollars trying to fight all sorts of environmental protections whether it be ANWAR, polar bears as an endangered species, protections on environmentally sensitive areas from natural gas minings, they’ve performed aerial huntings of wolves even when there isn’t an overabundance of them, and they face the possibility of becoming endangered once again. Ironically, while Alaska led by Sarah Palin is in a complete state of denial about climate change, and the strongest advocate of environmental destruction within it’s own state, Alaska has been warming far more than the rest of our country. Alot of it’s infrastructure is built on permafrost, and that permafrost is now melting, softening the ground so that it’s like jello. This is causing billions of dollars of damage, far more than the residents are receiving back from the government for drilling and ruining their land while jeopardizing their children’s future.

AND BY THE WAY, THE NOTION THAT SARAH PALIN HAS TAKEN ON BIG OIL IS AN ABSOLUTE JOKE, NOT ONLY BECAUSE OF THE ABOVE RECORD, BUT BECAUSE HER HUSBAND WORKS FOR BP.

Had to make sure that wasn’t missed. For more information of the environmental disaster that is Sarah Palin, heres a few more facts.

With the addition of Sarah Palin, the prospect of a McCain presidency for me goes from “might not be that bad” to “hell no”.

10 Comments »

  1. When was the last time any governor of Alaska had to call up the Natinal Guard for the security a town, city, or the state. Sons, daughters, aunts, uncles, cousins, and yes even brave people who don’t family are sent into harms way for their 1st 2nd 3rd time. As a brother of a fallen war hero,son of a WWII veteran I along with my family are greatful respectful, and proud of each any every one wearing a uniform and serving their country.This canidate has no more experence with national security than either one of her school teacher parents.

    Comment by jeff krstich — August 29, 2008 @ 5:31 pm | Reply

  2. The candidate who would have made the McCain ticket a “hell no” for me was Romney. Now, because I am a Clinton supporter, do I vote for McCain inspight of my party because he has honored my sex?

    http://femspotter.wordpress.com

    Comment by femspotter — August 29, 2008 @ 5:55 pm | Reply

  3. Hi Femspotter, in case you wanted my 2 cents, although obviously I’m biased because I support Obama, is that you vote for the presidential candidate that lines up with your issues.

    I think McCain is just trying to score political points with women. I don’t think he’s honoring your sex, he’s trying to manipulate you.

    I would argue that had Obama picked Clinton, it simply would have been because he thought that was the ONLY appeal that his candidacy would have had to you, so he would’ve simply been pandering.

    I think Hillary Clinton hit it on the head during her speech at the DNC when she asked her supporters “were you in this just for me, or for the issues I’ve fought my entire life for?”. The fact is that Obama’s stances and values line up with Hillary’s far more than John McCains.

    If it’s worth anything, I think Hillary Clinton has more power and pull as a distinuished US Senator than she would have had as a VP. We’ll need her leadership in the Senate if Obama becomes president to solve some of our major problems.

    Comment by Matt Dernoga — August 29, 2008 @ 6:19 pm | Reply

  4. Too tired…spight? Spite. Anyway, my concern about Obama is that he’s just not going to be able to “CHANGE” anything. Already, he’s started with the smear tactics against McCain. Hasn’t he declared himself to be above that?

    Comment by femspotter — August 29, 2008 @ 8:06 pm | Reply

  5. I’m not going to try to defend everything Obama says and does, but with the exception of making fun of the fact that McCain doesn’t know how many houses he has, I think Obama has attacked McCain on the issues. He certainly hasn’t questioned his patriotism or character, which John McCain has done to Obama.

    I certainly don’t want Obama to sit back and let all the attacks, many untrue and personal go undefended. I’m all for him talking tough on the issues which he’s been doing, and responding to the smears on him.

    But I really care alot more about how these two men come down on the issues than the political bickering going on between them that goes on every election cycle.

    I can’t garruntee that Obama would “change” anything, but I’m more than willing to give him a chance than wonder what could have been.

    Comment by Matt Dernoga — August 29, 2008 @ 8:24 pm | Reply

  6. By “honoring” I meant acknowledging, by the way. I don’t think McCain is planning on throwing a parade in honor of women’s rights in the near future. :)

    The trouble with voting along issue lines right now for me is that neither side aligns entirely with my socially liberal and fiscally conservative views. Neither side is standing up for equal marriage rights for homosexuals. Neither side is focused enough on the environment for my taste. Obama’s health care initiative is naive, compared with Clinton’s plan. And if voted into office, McCain would not overturn Roe v. Wade…so his pro-life stance doesn’t really bother me. I’m not interested in eliminating guns from every home, though I do think the state in which I live (New Jersey), having very strict codes for civilian gun purchase, has the right idea when it comes to gun control. The death penalty (I’m against) has been a state issue. At the end of the day, the issues don’t make all the difference…and even though I don’t think the presidential election should resemble a beauty contest, I do want to like, or at least esteem, the next president.

    The Obama camp is simply not willing to discuss why he didn’t even CONSIDER Clinton as his running mate. Throw me a bone, please! Even if it’s a lie on his part, saying good things about Clinton – lots and lots of good things – would help Obama win back her voters.

    How about this: “Thank you, Senator Clinton, for making me a stronger candidate and throwing your forces my way without regard for personal gain?”

    Comment by femspotter — August 29, 2008 @ 11:30 pm | Reply

  7. I understand a bit better now since you come down on some positions conservatively, and others progressively. The one thing I do want to point out is that McCain has said he will appoint conservative judges, so Roe v. Wade isn’t safe. Palin is a strong social conservative, which only makes it more likely the appointed judge would vote to overturn.

    I can’t speculate on why she didn’t get picked, but I really do think she’ll be more effective in the Senate than as VP.

    I don’t think I can convince you to change your mind, but I did notice you said you felt neither candidate was talking enough about the environment. Environment/Energy is my signature issue, and I’m extremely impressed with the specifcs of Senator Obama’s energy policy.

    Over the next couple of monthes leading up to the election, I will on multiple occasions blog and make the case that Obama has the best policies here. I encourage you to check back in on my blog when you get the chance for the next 2 monthes, and perhaps I can shore up your doubts in this area about Obama.

    Comment by Matt Dernoga — August 29, 2008 @ 11:51 pm | Reply

  8. In the meantime, please check out my blog as well. I appreciate any feedback.

    Comment by femspotter — August 30, 2008 @ 12:03 pm | Reply

  9. I enjoy the way people say that Palin has no experience comparing her to Obama. A state is a small version of a country. Palin has far more experience being chief executive than Senator Obama. Obama’s district also has one of the worst crime, police, and school systems there are. The other thing I find interesting is the Obama supporters compare him to Palin. Have any of you noticed that you are comparing the Vice Presidential candidate to the Presidential candidate. The best thing is that Palin (Vice President candidate) has far more chief executive experience than Obama (Presidential candidate).

    Comment by Name — September 19, 2008 @ 3:27 pm | Reply

  10. Well I for one dislike Palin because of her views. Your argument is flawed in that Palin also has more executive experience than John McCain. Executive experience does not a good president make. George Bush had plenty of exec experience.

    Comment by Matt Dernoga — September 19, 2008 @ 3:59 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

