The Dernogalizer

August 30, 2008

Mass Transhit

Filed under: Dernoga,Energy/Climate,MD Politics — Matt Dernoga @ 7:50 pm
Tags: , , ,
Weve all been here

We've all been here

As I mention in my profile, I write opiniom columns for my college’s newspaper The Diamondback. The fall semester starts next tuesday, and I should be having a column come out that day which I will post on this blog, and I’ll likely follow up later that night or the following day with more insight about the topic. I was taking a moment to look at what I wrote in the past, and I think it’s worthwhile posting a link to one of my best received op-eds last spring. Heres the link: Mass Transhit

Yeah, I know creative title. I basically examine in the article a conflict in interests for my state of Maryland in developing new mass transit, and building a giant toll road. Which one is the best idea moving forward? I then take a look at how this relates to not just Maryland but our nation. The general theme here is that with rising gas prices, we need more mass transit, and we need our existing mass transit to be improved. It will help us cut our fuel costs, reduce oil consumption, and reduce our CO2 emissions. I think of all the solutions that will pay a role in energy independence and fighting climate change, investing in mass transit is the most overlooked, even though it’s one of the most effective ways to spend our dollars. Enjoy the piece!

1 Comment »

  1. Why you be takin’ pictures of my state, dawg?

    Comment by blankmetta — September 2, 2008 @ 12:12 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

